First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Micajah P. (Micah) Caskey, IV Neal A. Collins Patricia Moore "Pat" Henegan William M. (Bill) Hixon Jeffrey E. (Jeff) Johnson Mandy Powers Norrell Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor Robert Q. Williams

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

# Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

Gary E. Clary
Chandra E. Dillard
Lee Hewitt
Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr.
Marvin R. Pendarvis
Robert L. Ridgeway, III
Edward R. Tallon, Sr.
John Taliaferro (Jay) West, IV
Chris Wooten

Charles L. Appleby, IV Legal Counsel

Lewis Carter Research Analyst/Auditor

## **Legislative Oversight Committee Meeting**

Monday, October 5, 2020 Blatt Building Room 110

#### **Archived Video Available**

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 6.8, South Carolina ETV was allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (http://www.scstatehouse.gov) and clicking on *Committee Postings and Reports*, then under *House Standing Committees* click on *Legislative Oversight*. Then, click on *Video Archives* for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

#### Attendance:

I. Pursuant to Committee Rule 3.1, the meeting of the House Legislative Oversight Committee was called to order by Chairman Wm. Weston J. Newton. All members of the Committee were present for all or a portion of the meeting, except Representative Micah Caskey, Representative Pat Henegan, Representative Lee Hewitt, Representative Jeffrey E. Johnson, Representative Marvin Pendarvis; Representative Bobby Ridgeway; Representative Tommy Stringer; and Representative Bill Taylor.

#### Minutes

I. Representative Tallon, moves to approve the minutes from the meeting on February 26, 2020. A roll call vote is held, and the motion passes.

Representative Tallon's motion to approve the minutes from the meeting on February 26, 2020.	Yea	Nay	Not Voting: Present	Not Voting: Absent
Micajah P. "Micah" Caskey, IV				✓
Gary E. Clary	✓			
Neal A. Collins	✓			
Chandra E. Dillard	✓			
Laurie Slade Funderburk	✓			
Patricia Moore "Pat" Henegan				✓
Lee Hewitt				✓
William M. "Bill" Hixon	✓			
Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr.	✓			
Jeffrey E. Johnson				✓
Mandy Powers Norrell	✓			
Marvin R. Pendarvis				✓
Robert L. Ridgeway, III				✓
Tommy M. Stringer				✓
Edward R. "Eddie" Tallon, Sr.	✓			
Bill Taylor				✓
John T. West	✓			
Robert Q. Williams	✓			
Christopher Sloan "Chris" Wooten	✓			
Wm. Weston J. Newton	✓			

# Discussion of Agenda and Procedure

I. Chairman Newton states the purpose of this meeting is to discuss the following items: the Ad Hoc Subcommittee Report of the Department of Corrections and Committee administrative matters.

### **Discussion of the Department of Corrections:**

- I. All testimony from the public and agency representatives was provided under oath.
- II. The Committee heard public testimony from Ms. Rena Peurifoy regarding her son's experience as an inmate with COVID. After her testimony, Director Bryan Stirling and Warden Kenneth Nelson of Lee Correctional Institute respond regarding sanitary conditions of the institution.

- III. Representative Robert Q. Williams questions the agency regarding sanitary conditions and staffing levels. Director Stirling, Warden Nelson, and Jessica Lovelace, Division Director of Human Resources responds to those questions.
- IV. Representative Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr. questions the agency regarding the air conditioning of the facilities. Director Stirling and Joel Anderson, Deputy Director of Operations, respond to his question.
- V. Representative Chandra E. Dillard questions the agency about tracking of inmate showers. Deputy Director Anderson responds to her question.
- VI. Representative Edward R. "Eddie" Tallon, Sr. presents an overview of the Ad Hoc Subcommittee on the Department of Correction's study.
- VII. Representative Tallon states that the subcommittee has 75 individual recommendations (38 to the Department of Corrections; 2 to Court Administration; 1 to State Human Resources; 1 to Insurance Reserve Fund; 1 to Law Enforcement Training Council; and 32 to the General Assembly) arising from the Department of Corrections addressing the following categories:
  - i. Accountability;
  - ii. Effectiveness;
  - iii. Efficiency;
  - iv. Transparancy;
  - v. Interagency collaboration; and
  - vi. Modernization of laws
- VIII. Representative Neal A. Collins questions the agency regarding the legal costs incurred by the agency and for an update on COVID testing. Representative Tallon responds to Representative Collins that the information is available in the Legislative Audit Council report requested by the Committee. Dr. April Clark, Deputy Director of Medical Services and Director Stirling respond on behalf of the agency.
- IX. Representative Williams the agency regarding COVID quarantine procedures. Dr. Clark and Director Stirling respond on behalf of the agency,
- X. Representative Tallon moves that the Committee adopt the Ad Hoc Subcommittee study in full. A roll call vote is held, and the motion passes.

Representative Tallon's motion to adopt the Ad Hoc Subcommittee's study of the Department of Corrections.	Yea	Nay	Not Voting: Present	Not Voting: Absent
Micajah P. "Micah" Caskey, IV				✓
Gary E. Clary	✓			
Neal A. Collins	✓			
Chandra E. Dillard	✓			
Laurie Slade Funderburk	✓			
Patricia Moore "Pat" Henegan				✓
Lee Hewitt				✓
William M. "Bill" Hixon	✓			
Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr.	✓			
Jeffrey E. Johnson				✓
Mandy Powers Norrell	✓			
Marvin R. Pendarvis				✓
Robert L. Ridgeway, III				✓
Tommy M. Stringer				✓
Edward R. "Eddie" Tallon, Sr.	✓			
Bill Taylor				✓
John T. West	✓			
Robert Q. Williams	✓			
Christopher Sloan "Chris" Wooten	✓			
Wm. Weston J. Newton	✓			

# **Discussion of Committee Administrative Matters**

- I. Chairman Newton provides an overview of administrative matters, including the ability of members to submit written statements for inclusion in Committee studies pursuant to Standard Practice Rule 12.6.
- II. There being no further business, the meeting adjourns.